Are Oreos vegan? The short answer is yes, kind of.
It’s one of the most frequently cited, debated, and disputed food facts: “Did you know Oreos are vegan?” Strangers to plant-based cooking might be surprised that chocolate cookies and creamy frosting don’t contain milk or eggs. But, as those of us with plant-based kitchens know, it’s not far-fetched at all.
Here is an abridged Oreos ingredients list: unbleached enriched flour, sugar, palm and/or canola oil, cocoa, high fructose corn syrup, leavening (baking soda and/or calcium phosphate) cornstarch, salt, soy lecithin, vanilla, and chocolate.
Are Oreos Vegan?
By most definitions, it certainly looks vegan. But, many vegans swear off refined sugar, some of which is processed with animal bone char. There’s also the milk issue. Like many processed foods, Oreos are produced on the same equipment as other, non-vegan products. So, you might be ingesting trace amounts of dairy with your Oreo cookies. Some vegans stay away from these types of food while others leave room for the small error.
So, that’s the gist of the “Are Oreos Vegan? debate. However, it begs another question.
Are Oreos healthy?
Some adopt a vegan diet purely for ethical reasons while others are at least partially motivated by health. And if that’s a concern of yours, you might want to take a second look at the unabridged ingredients list. Oreos are made with highly processed ingredients, and chock full of sugar – three cookies contain 14 grams of sugar, or 2.95 teaspoons. That’s half the recommended daily allotment.
If you want to stay away from processed ingredients and high fructose corn syrup, then opt for an organic, but still vegan, cookie like Newman O’s. Organic sugar isn’t refined with bone char, which is another big plus.
But, a word of warning: organic products can contain as much sugar as their highly processed alternatives. Three organic Newman O’s cookies contains 16.5 grams of sugar – even more than Oreos. So, if you’re watching your sugar intake, indulge in packaged cookies in moderation if at all. Instead, try low-sugar or sugar-free dessert recipes from VegKitchen.
Contributed by Hannah Brown.
Image: Evan Amos, Wikimedia Commons
Whether you have celiac disease, gluten intolerance, or just want to start cutting down, there’s no denying it — wheat is hard to avoid. But if you take the time to look, there’s a whole delicious world of pasta beyond the boxed durum wheat varieties. If you avoid gluten and are stuck in a pasta rut, try one of these gluten-free or low-gluten options. Pictured above, Cold Japanese Noodles with Daikon and Carrots, made with mugwort soba. more→
My omnivorous boss and I recently had a good-natured spat about cake. She insisted that non-vegan cake (or “real” cake, as she called it) was superior to the vegan version. Naturally, I challenged her to a cupcake battle. Without telling them which was which, we had everyone in our department sample her non-vegan chocolate cupcakes and my vegan ones. In the end, only half could tell them apart. People kept asking me, “No butter? No eggs? What did you put in them?”
Vegan baking can be as inventive as zucchini and black beans in desserts or as simple as making a substitution. If you’re working off an old family recipe, or want to experiment with creating your own recipes, here are 5 simple egg replacers that are sitting in your kitchen waiting to become dessert. more→
So many vegans cite the benefit of the diet as a way to lose weight, which is great for those who need to. But what about those of us looking to maintain the same physique, or with health problems that make it dangerous to slim down? You don’t have to sacrifice your tastes, ethics, or health to gain weight. more→