Colette Martin

Gluten-Free Chocolate No-Nut Crisp

Gluten-Free Chocolate No-Nut Crisp

It can be difficult to find a chocolate bar that is made without milk (or traces of milk and nuts). This chocolate crisp is a make-your-own candy bar that can be prepared in minutes, without turning the oven on. Use your favorite non-dairy chocolate, or try this with different chocolates to see which you prefer. more→

Gluten-free versus Wheat-free

Gluten-free bread

Excerpted from Learning to Bake Allergen-Free: A Crash Course for Busy Parents on Baking without Wheat, Gluten, Dairy, Eggs, Soy or Nuts,* copyright © 2012 by Colette Martin (reprinted by permission of the publisher, The Experiment). Common wheat belongs to a genus of grasses known as Triticum. The genus itself is also sometimes referred to as wheat. Those who are allergic to wheat need to avoid all of the Triticum grains, including triticale, durum wheat, kamut, spelt, and einkorn. While these grains are sometimes suggested as alternatives to wheat in recipes, if you are allergic to wheat you must avoid them all. Any grain in the wheat or Triticum family must be labeled “wheat” on processed food packages. more→

Gluten-Free Poured Pizza Crust

I was inspired to create this pizza crust after attending a gluten-free baking class at the Culinary Institute of America. I had tried packaged gluten-free pizza mixes with allergen-free substitutions, and I wasn’t completely happy with any of them. Most of them used yeast and required a rise cycle. They took too long to prepare and were just a little too hard to sink your teeth into. The pizza crust we made in Chef Coppedge’s class also used yeast and still required some rising time, but he did something I had never seen before: He taught us how to form individual pizza slices, using a pastry bag to spread the dough on a baking sheet. more→


Vegan Dinner Recipes   Vegan Recipes   Recipes Galore   Vegan Living   Nutrition   Vegan Summer Recipes